Parker and Rita

Day 30: Write a short entry that ends with the line, “The silver dust of moonlight settled coldly on the night.”

Last Day of Vaycay: Do I have to leave???!??!!

~

Rita and Parker sat on the sand waiting blue sky to fade pink with the tropical sunset. Both of their vacations were coming to an end; Parker would drive back
to their home in Charlotte, and Rita and her mother would fly back to Milwaukee. Their young love would soon end as Parker would be the all-star quarterback for his high school and Rita would start college.

Rita rested her head on Parker’s bulging muscular shoulder. It was time.

“Before you go tomorrow,” Parker began, shifting his gaze from the slowly setting sun to Rita’s brunette waves and freckled face, “I just gotta tell you . . .”

“Tell me what?” she asked.

He sighed, relieving some tension, but then quickly ripped off the band aid: “I love you.”

Rita was at a loss for words.

“I’ve loved you since the moment I laid eyes on you two weeks ago,” he continued, “Since our first kiss and all of those frisky night swims. I’ve fallen in love with you Rita, and I wouldn’t feel right going back to North Carolina without knowing your feelings for me.”

Rita gulped audibly, nervous to share.

“You do love me, don’t you?” Parker asked.

“These two weeks have been fun,” Rita began, “And I like you, but I’m going to college in the fall and . . .”

“None of that fooling around meant anything to you?” he asked, feeling irritated and cheap, like he was only being played for it.

“It was fun,” Rita repeated, shrugging her shoulders, “I don’t know what to tell you.”

Rita turned to face the setting sun, but Parker just stared at her in disbelief. He poured his heart out to the girl of his dreams only for it to shatter into a million tiny pieces like a broken shell. That night, the silver dust of moonlight settled coldly on the night.

One thought on “Parker and Rita

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Writing Prompt Challenge | Grace Literate

Leave a Reply

