Graduates in Wonderland Review

image

I do most of my reading on vacation–actually, all of my reading vacation. Rarely do I have enough energy to read a full chapter when I’m in the real world. It’s kind of sad. But, regardless, I have finished my first book of the year (and voracious readers, like Ursula, can’t believe that statement to be true)! Can I
get an Amen!? No, okay . . .

Graduates in Wonderland: A Memoir of Friendship is about two college friends, Jess and Rachel, that make a pre-graduation pact to keep in touch via email post-graduation. About once a week every other week the two young women write to each other discussing their daily lives, the crushes they have and the men they’re seeing, and occasionally the goal to quit smoking. Not only that, but they travel and they share their worldly experiences with each other, and it’s pretty amazing!

I’ll admit, I’m pretty jealous of Jess and Rachel. I wish I’d gotten close enough with my college friends to want to email them constantly updating them on my life. I also wish I had the courage to start a new life in a foreign country. Not necessarily China (sorry Jess), but maybe Germany or Greece?

What I really enjoyed about the book was the friendly banter, the trueness of their friendship, and the adventures around the world–especially Australia! Jess, I still can’t pronounce Melbourne right, either. Or Cairns. Or anything!

The only thing that really bothered me about the book was that it was all just copy-pasted emails which I expected, but I didn’t expect the entire book to be just that. I expected some dialogue and novel-like characteristics to pop up occasionally.

Overall, I really enjoyed Graduates in Wonderland. If you’re into stories of best friends and worldly adventures, I highly recommend this book.

Leave a Reply

