Cranberry Sedan

Day 18: Take a reader behind the wheel with the worst driver you’ve ever known.

Yea, I know, I missed another day *sigh*

At least I made it safely to the Sunshine State. That’s gotta count for something, right?

~

Based on true accounts.

After I hung up the phone and exited baggage claim, there she was, standing next to her

cranberry colored generic sedan, looking girly and innocent in her high waisted skirt and plain tank top. We exchanged greetings and hugs, and everything was nice and friendly until the car was back in motion.

Weaving through traffic on the expressway, at the absolute last minute before we’d be ground chuck on the side ramps, and honking at cars miles ahead of us, I was ready to be st her condo. We’d occasionally stop too close to the car in front of us in traffic or at a red light or stop sign. That’s when she decided to tell me she’d just gotten a ticket for rear ending someone. Speeding through school zones, while kids were crossing the street, was also a hobby of her reckless driving. That’s when she decided to tell me she’d gotten a speeding ticket in a school zone.

“So stupid!” she laughed. She laughed.

All the while, on the street her condo was on, she was blatantly shouting at the old man going the speed limit in front of us.

“Oh, I can’t tell the break pedal from the gas pedal,” she’d mock and yell until we finally pulled up the driveway and park.

I could kiss the ground I was so happy to be out of that cranberry sedan and in one piece, too! That trip, I suggested we walk more than ever.

One thought on “Cranberry Sedan

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Writing Prompt Challenge | Grace Literate

Leave a Reply

