The Uninvited

Day 13: Write about a random picture you would find in an envelope of finished prints at Costco.


I had gotten the call. My pictures were ready. I was so excited to see how they had turned out, all of the bright colors from the balloons, confetti, and delicious birthday cake. I couldn’t believe another birthday had come and gone.

The anticipation was killing me as I held the package in my hand. I quickly ran to my car and sat in the parking lot just to look at the smiling faces, the laughs, and the good times. All of the pictures were wonderful, capturing the moment of my birthday perfectly, but there was one out of the bunch that struck me off, made me cringe in my driver’s seat. We were in the living room of my apartment. Janey was flirting with Max, getting cozy on the couch. Lisa, Marie, and Tony were playing a card game at the island countertop. I was dancing to the beat of my own drum with Alex.

What struck me as weird was the woman standing behind me. I had never seen her before. She was dark, wearing clothes that have been out of style for years. Her head was down, her dark hair covering her face. She looked murky and green, still as a rock. But the more I seemed to look at the picture, and stare at the unfamiliar girl, the more it seemed her head tilted up to make eye contact with me.

 

One thought on “The Uninvited

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Writing Prompt Challenge | Grace Literate

Leave a Reply

