Cleo

Day 11: What was your first childhood pet? Describe it in detail.

~

She was a bright orange with big bulging black eyes. She’d always pace back and forth, and I could watch her for days, fascinated with her method. Her life was simple. I was always worried that she never got enough sleep when we turned the lights out, but each morning she’d be back at it, pacing back and forth occasionally running into the glass. I mimicked the way she’d glub for water; we’d both do fish face all the live long day. I would make my mom read The Rainbow Fish to her and I, and I’d always imagine him as her hero. Sadly, the good times with Cleo, my first goldfish, ended quickly when I decided to paint her purple. Even as a toddler, I never really liked the color orange. RIP Cleo.

One thought on “Cleo

  1. Pingback: 30 Day Writing Prompt Challenge | Grace Literate

Leave a Reply

