Misunderstandings While Standing in the “Seeking Employment” Line

Dear Grace,

Thank you for taking the time to meet with us about the Marketing Associate position.  We appreciate your interest in our company.  At this time we have filled the position with another candidate whose experience more closely matches the requirements for this role.  We would like to keep your resume on file should we have openings in the future.

Please know that your time and interest were greatly appreciated and best of luck to you in your future endeavors.

Best regards,

[The Company That Didn’t Hire Me]

~

Things I Don’t Understand About the Job Hunt

  1. Why are you lying to me? The Marketing Associate position I applied for (above) had a job description that read “no experience necessary,” so what’s the real reason behind you not hiring me? I have marketing experience, so there has to be another reason, right? Help me help you; how can I improve?
  2. Why are you being a coward? Not only are you hiding the real reason from me, but you didn’t even have the decency to call. I’d rather hear you say I didn’t get the job than imagine hearing you typing that email. That’s like breaking up with someone via text . . . or email. Most jobs talk about networking and face-to-face interactions and connections, but yet you hide behind a computer screen in fear of my reaction to your rejection? Not to mention, you promised you’d call; this relationship’s over.
  3. Why can’t you give me a chance? How can you judge my work ethic based on an interview asking me questions like “What’s your biggest accomplishment?” or “When were you feeling your weakest in your current position?” Shouldn’t practice and provided materials prove my worth, like published work, references, etc.? Why can’t you give me a chance to prove to you that, although I am very green in the professional world, I’m up to the challenge.

~

Maybe I’m still immature, or maybe I’m speaking for all of the unemployed college graduates out there. Throw us a bone/give us a break! I am capable, and I am talented and passionate. I am also ankle-, knee-, (ah shit) WAIST-DEEP in student loan debt.

Help me help you, professional world. Tell me how I can improve to meet your standards for the American dream.


Related posts:

A Letter to the Class of 2014
Embarking on the Next Big Adventure
Yay or Nay?

One thought on “Misunderstandings While Standing in the “Seeking Employment” Line

  1. Pingback: “We are such stuff / As dreams are made on; and our little life / Is rounded with a sleep.” | Grace Literate

Leave a Reply

