Chivalry is About as Dead as a Doornail

Disclaimer: This post may come off as controversial. All opinions are respected, but bullying is not tolerated. I would suggest that if your statement you’d like to share is an attack that you don’t share it at all. You are welcome to state your opinion, but all attacks will be ignored and deleted. Cyber bullying is real and is very harmful.

I also suggest that if you are faint of heart to just ignore this post all together. I mean, you can read it–I’m not your mother, you have your own free will–but don’t say I didn’t warn you.


Chivalry is About as Dead as a Doornail

I woke up to the smell of sweets. My craving for sugar took me into the kitchen, only to see Prince Eric cleaning the grimy stove. The condition his roommate left it in was grotesque.

“What did your roommate do this time?” I asked, not able to connect the filth my eyes were seeing with the chocolate my nose was smelling.

“He made drugged brownies,” he responded, scrubbing the dried caked on batter with bleach, “He’s trying to get that girl to sleep with him.”

Chivalry = dead.

~

Recently, I’ve gotten into Game of Thrones (and, no spoilers please! I’m just starting Season 1), to the point where I stayed up into the wee hours of the morning just to watch a few episodes on Putlocker. One could say I am completely obsessed, which is true. It’s a great show! Like everything, it has its pros, but it also has its cons.

For example, why are some of the names so simple, yet some are completely extravagantly exotic? Simple: Robb Stark, Bran Stark, Jon Snow . . . then, you have names like Daenerys Targaryen. What? I’m five episodes in, and I still don’t know how to pronounce that.

I kind of wish this was in GIF form so we could all throw up together.

I kind of wish this was a GIF so we could all throw up together.

The blood, that’s kind of eerie . . . especially in the jousting scene when Jon Arryn’s old squire gets a big chunk of wood through his throat. Barf.

What really bothers me about the show is the rape culture it provides for its viewers. Alright, I get it, it’s supposed to be set in some mythical land representing our world’s Dark Ages. The Dark Ages: a primitive time when men and women were of different ranks and pedestals. But, this whole caveman approach that the male characters in this show seem to possess is pretty gross.

What I’ve learned about my gender from Game of Thrones?

  • We’re only good for sex, but only when our significant other isn’t fucking some whore at the local brothel or some distant woman in a far off kingdom.
  • We really have no power–you may be queen, but your brother can still push you around.
  • We’re meant to do dainty womanly crafts, like cross stitch sewing or making wreaths and dolls out of twigs . . . nothing as barbaric as archery or sword fighting.
  • Sex is all about pleasing the man, because he worked hard to maintain that long braid of his.

The list may go on, but, like I said, I’m going to watch S1 E5 in a few minutes . . . I’ve got a lot of catching up to do.

~

Maybe I’m over analyzing it. Maybe I’m biting off more than I can chew.

Is chivalry dead, or is it hiding within the shadows, waiting to open one car door for a woman or pulling out one chair for a lady ready to sit down to dinner?

Maybe chivalry was always meant to be like a pan of drugged brownies . . . a plan of attack to get women in bed with men.

~

Despite the cons, I will continue to watch the show. With every evil comes some good, in this world. There is love in Game of Thrones, as there is love in the cruel world we live in.

Some pros:

  • There’s a woman in charge, and she uses that to her advantage and to rule justly.
  • There is true love between the characters, you just have to dig deeper beneath the surface to see it–and, believe me, it comes in strange forms.
  • Sex isn’t just sex, for some couples; love can be found there, as well.
  • All women aren’t meant for crafting; some are meant to water dance.

Not to mention, everyone has ridiculously nice and groomed eyebrows. You’d think tweezers and eyebrow brush and pencil weren’t invented yet, but, hey, who am I to judge a nice pair of eye brows?

Chivalry may be dead, but stay positive, my friends. True love is still all around us; it’s lurking somewhere, we just need to find it within the darkness.

3 thoughts on “Chivalry is About as Dead as a Doornail

  1. Things get a little bit better as the female characters get empowered in various ways (some ways are the best that they can do with their circumstances) and not every guy is a smirking butthead, but it’s not an easy show at times.

    Glad you’re enjoying it and giving it a fair shake.

    Like

  2. Pingback: A Lannister Always Pays [Her] Debts . . . Even on Memorial Day | Grace Literate

Leave a Reply

